Goddard, Jin, and Li named 2020 OSA Fellows

ECE News

11/7/2019 3:22:06 PM

Story Highlights

Lynford L. Goddard
Lynford L. Goddard
Illinois ECE Professors Lynford L Goddard, Xiuling Li, Donald Biggar Willett Scholar, and Jianming Jin, Y.T. Lo Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering, were recently named as 2020 OSA Fellows.

“Given that fewer than half of one percent of the Optical Society members are elected to fellow in a given year, it is a testament to Illinois’s sustained leadership in optics and photonics science and engineering to have three members elected at once,” Department Head of Illinois ECE and Leonard C. and Mary Lou Hoeft Endowed Chair in Engineering Bruce Hajek said.

Xiuling  Li
Xiuling Li
The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors elected 94 members to the society's 2020 Fellows Class. Fellows are selected based on several factors including their contributions to education, research, engineering, business, and the community."

“Being named an OSA Fellow is a singular honor and indicates a history of achievement in optics and photonics, and a reputation for service to OSA and our field,” said OSA President Ursula Gibson. “Congratulations to the 2020 Fellows Class, and our thanks to the OSA Fellow Members Committee, nominators and references for their continued support of this program.”

Jianming  Jin
Jianming Jin
OSA Fellows are members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics. The OSA Fellow Members Committee reviewed more than 200 nominations submitted by current OSA Fellows and recommended candidates fro election to the Awards Council and OSA Board of Directors. No more than 10 percent of the total OSA membership may be Fellows at any given time, distinguishing this year's honorees as a highly selective group.

View the full list of OSA Fellows here.

Related news

Articles about Lynford L Goddard

Articles about Jianming Jin

Articles about Xiuling Li

Related stories by topic

Media Contact

Todd Sweet

Director of Communications
1066 ECE Building
(217) 333-5943

Ryann Monahan

Communications Coordinator
1066 ECE Building
(217) 300-6658

Have a news story idea? Submit it here: go.ece.illinois.edu/News

The ECE ILLINOIS news item submission form will help increase the visibility of ECE ILLINOIS. Submissions can include ongoing or published research, new funding, awards, student or faculty highlights, and anything else new and interesting in ECE ILLINOIS. This could be for a press release, feature article, podcast, video, social media post, or the Illinois News Bureau.