Ernest A. Tolli Memorial Scholarship

Established 2011


These scholarships were established by Dominic M. (BSEE '88, MS '90) and Natalie J. Tolli to honor the life and memory of their grandfather, Ernest A. Tolli.


  • Must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  • Must be majoring in Electrical Engineering.
  • Must have demonstrated academic merit.

Selection Process :

In September the Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 10% of the junior class and the top 10% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2020-2021 Saidivya Ashok
2019-2020 Yicong Dong
2018-2019 Ryan Joseph Sadowski, Shreyas Byndoor
2017-2018 Paul Ernst, Robert Kaufman
2016-2017 Hieu Huynh, William Rick
2015-2016 Cheng Chen, Alexander Kapustka, Zikang Tong
2014-2015 Sanchit Gupta, Samuel Rohde
2013-2014 Junyi Qiu, Daniel Coombs
2012-2013 Alexander Politakis, Danyang Zhuo
2011-2012 Patrick Ding, Jeffrey Lale