Professor N. Narayana Rao Scholarship Award

Established 2011


This award was established in honor of Professor N. Narayana Rao, who served as a faculty member in the ECE Department (1965-2007) and mentor to Vamshi Kommineni (BS CompE '01). 


  1. The recipient must be a junior or senior in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The recipient must have a demonstrated scholastic excellence.
  3. The recipient must distinguished themselves through meaningful service to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and broader college and campus community. Examples of such service include assuming a leadership role in student organizations and groups, participation in peer mentoring and advising, and/or outreach activities aimed at engaging students and the broader public in the role of engineering in the well-being of mankind. 
  4. Preference will be given to student workers who have demonstrated a strong work ethic through student employment.


The recipient(s) will be recognized at the annual spring ECE Awards and Recognition Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.  

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2023-2024 Neela Kausik, Jung Ki Lee
2022-2023 Hongyu Chen, Jiaru Zou
2021-2022 Cyril Jazra, Shitao Liu
2020-2021 Yifan Pan, Sanat Pandey
2019-2020 Sanat Pandey
2018-2019 Xinyi Guo
2017-2018 Caleb McEwen
2016-2017 Shuijing Liu, Alec Wasowicz
2015-2016 Michael Fatina, Shuo Liu
2014-2015 Stephen Boisvert
2013-2014 Akshay Malik
2012-2013 Jun Min Leonard Lim, Zeqiu Wu