William J. Mayer Engineering Scholarship

Established 2011


William (BSEE ’70) and Linda Mayer established this endowed scholarship to support undergraduate students who are from the State of Illinois. This scholarship is renewable until recipients graduate with their undergraduate degree.


The recipients must be undergraduates in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign who are from Illinois counties south of Interstate 70 (regardless of financial need).

Selection Process:

In September the ECE Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 15% of the junior class and the top 15% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms, submitted applications, and identifies the students to receive the award.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2021-2022 Alyssa Bradshaw, Gage Gulley, Bryson Maedge, Jacob Mueller, Jason Pan, Nicholas Trueb
2020-2021 Alyssa Bradshaw, Gage Gulley, Jacob Mueller, Jason Pan, Nicholas Trueb
2019-2020 Jacob Mueller, Jason Pan, Nicholas Trueb
2018-2019 Jason Pan, Nicholas Trueb
2017-2018 Tyler Fennes, Wyatt Marks
2016-2017 Brandon Eubanks, Quentin Klinger
2015-2016 Craig Bost, Wade Kibler
2014-2015 Bryan Kennard