Joseph W. Lyding Endowed Scholarship

Established 2016

This scholarship was created to honor current ECE Professor Joseph W. Lyding, Robert C. MacClinchie Distinguished Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering.  Professor Lyding was recruited to Illinois in 1984 by John Bardeen to work on the 1D charge density wave problem. He constructed the first atomic resolution scanning tunneling microscope (STM) in the Midwestern United States and one of the earliest STMs in the US. He followed this by inventing an ultra-stable STM in 1987 that was patented (US Patent 4,841,148) and licensed by the University of Illinois to RHK and McAllister Technical Services. Lyding's design has been copied worldwide and has also been included in major textbooks on surface science.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.


Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2023-2024 Nathan Chiang, Jizheng He, Qiran Pang
2022-2023 Jevin Liu, Adam Snedden
2021-2022 Jason Flanagan, Karthik Prasad
2020-2021 Cyril Jazra
2019-2020 Jiarui Zou
2018-2019 Mengze Sha