IEEE Power and Energy Society Scholarship Plus Initiative

Established 2011


The IEEE Power and Energy Scholarship Plus initiative was started to ensure a strong supply of new young electric power engineers in the future. The G&W Electric company provided significant support to target students of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as recipients of a number of these scholarships.  Initial scholarships are for $2,000 for one year. The scholarships are renewable.


  1. The recipient must be a citizen or permanent resident of the U.S.
  2. The recipient must have demonstrated an interest in a career in electric power engineering
  3. The recipient must maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA
  4. Applications must be made on the scholarship initiative’s website, which also has information about renewals
  5. Applications must be completed by June 30 each year

Selection Process:

The deadline for applications is normally June 30.  The IEEE Power and Energy Society region committees select new and renewal recipients each summer and announce the winners in the fall.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2019-2020 Cole Froelich, Andrew Miller, Noah Salk, Homero Vazquez, Chuangyi Zhang
2018-2019 Cole Froelich, Andrew Miller, Tyler Rasmussen, Logan Rosenmayer
2017-2018 Cole Froelich, Anika Manzo, Robert Parkinson, Tyler Rasmussen, Logan Rosenmayer, Sergio Silva, Robert Whalen
2016-2017 Amanda Beck, Sean Cashin, Ryan Helsdingen, William Kamerow, Bradford Kearbey, Robert Parkinson, Katelyn Riehl, Logan Rosenmayer
2015-2016 Amanda Beck, Jeffrey Calhoun, Carl Haken, Ryan Helsdingen, Bradford Kearbey, Thomas Navidi, Jamie Padilla, Robert Parkinson
2014-2015 Michael Goodlow, Carl Haken, Thomas Navidi, Evan Klepitsch, Fansheng Shi, Andri Teneqexhi
2013-2014 Michael Goodlow, Carl Haken, Evan Klepitsch, Fansheng Shi
2012-2013 Anish Chivukula, Joshua Garcia-Sheridan, Savan Kadakiya, Evan Klepitsch, Daniel Long, Matt McPhail, Fansheng Shi
2011-2012 Joshua Garcia-Sheridan, Savan Kadakiya