Henneman Scholarship in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Established 1986

This scholarship was set up by father and son Ralph J. (BSEE '49) and Michael J. (BSEE '75, MBA '83) Henneman through their company, Henneman Engineering, Inc. Engineers and Architects in Champaign and Chicago, Illinois to provide financial support to an outstanding undergraduate in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.


This scholarship is given annually to recognize and reward an outstanding junior or senior who has demonstrated an interest in power distribution.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The recipient shall be an active undergraduate in good standing.
  3. The recipient shall have attained a junior or a senior status as determined by the engineering college.
  4. The recipient shall have a minimum 3.0 academic average (out of possible 4.0) for all the previous semesters of school work.
  5. The recipient shall be studying in the academic field of power distribution in the Electrical Engineering Department.

Selection Process:

This scholarship is awarded bi-annually to a student in ECE with a demonstrated interest in power engineering.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2022-2023 Yvonne Smith
2019-2020 Julianna Gecsey
2018-2019 Joseph Paul Rapp
2017-2018 Gregg Lugo
2016-2017 Deep Dalal
2015-2016 Katelyn Riehl
2014-2015 Austin Jin
2013-2014 Henry Pierce
2012-2013 Anish Chivukula
2010-2011 Matthew Artus
2009-2010 Xichen Jiang
2008-2009 Brett Robbins
2006-2007 Gregory Eakins
2005-2006 Scott Donahue
2004-2005 Matthew Hendrickson
2003-2004 Daisy Chen
2002-2003 None in ECE
2001-2002 Patrick C. Toops
2000-2001 None in ECE
1999-2000 Alexandra Mandl
1998-1999 Eric Cunningham
1997-1998 None in ECE
1996-1997 Brian Borchers
1994-1995 Jeff Foster
1993-1994 John Garbe
1992-1993 Raymond Klump
1991-1992 Robert Barisch
1990-1991 None in ECE
1989-1990 Christopher Kulig
1988-1989 Katherine Monte
1987-1988 None in ECE
1986-1987 Alex Courson