Dr. Milton Feng Scholarship in ECE

Established 2015

Professor Emeritus Milton Feng, Nick Holonyak Jr. Chair Emeritus in Electrical and Computer Engineering, is best known for the co-invention and realization of the transistor laser. This discovery opened up new frontiers in optoelectronics integration as well as fast laser modulation, switching, and signal processing.


This scholarship supports students who have demonstrated interest in semiconductors, microelectronics, photonics, or other related topics.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2023-2024 Sean Liang, Phuvit Thirasuntrakul
2022-2023 Kewei Song
2021-2022 Josh Leeman, Zhenglun Wu
2020-2021 Yuaneui Chen
2019-2020 Xiaolin Wu
2018-2019 Annika Dugad
2017-2018 Weikun Zhu
2016-2017 Mark Hirsbrunner