Richard W. and Elaine Benfer Scholarships

Established 2008


These scholarships are awarded to the top freshman applicants.


  • Freshman in ECE

Selection Process :

All applications are reviewed for the incoming freshmen scholarships. Applicants are ranked on the College of Engineering PGPA (predicted GPA), which is a calculation based on the student's high school GPA, class ranking, and ACT/SAT scores. The number is weighted to judge math scores higher as they are more relevant to the study of engineering. The ECE department solicits (via email) further information, including an essay and a letter of reference from the top 75 applicants. The scholarship committee reviews these essays and letters in order to decide the recipients of the freshmen scholarships.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2021-2022 Sydney Wang, Shreya Venkat, Eric Mattner, Naomi Popescu, Jasmine Richmond, Daniel Rodriguez, Jeanjuella Tipan, Gabriel Valles, Alfredo Velasquez, Nandika Vuyyuri
2014-2015 Alexander Casino, Joydeep Ganguly, Cecil MacGregor, Nathan Moran, Brendan Moriarty
2013-2014 Alexander Casino, Joydeep Ganguly, Cecil MacGregor, Nathan Moran, Brendan Moriarty
2011-2012 Daniel Chen, Grant Czajkowski, Alexander Kordas, Siddharthan Sethupathi, Scott Tanaka
2010-2011 William Case, Matthew Idzik, Steven Kiebles, Matthew Tischer
2009-2010 Chris Goulet, Sean Hayward, Donald Hillebrand, Lindsey King, Jeffrey Lale, Emily Mazzola, Christoper Neumann, Joseph Scherer, Jerry Sun, Dennis Yuan
2008-2009 Keith Bowers, Jonah Greenthal, Jennifer Hong, Raymond Kellison, Kirk Knapp, Kenneth Long, Rebecca Marcotte, Miceal Rooney, Oana Toma, John Toole