ECE Alumni Association Scholarship

Established 1988


The ECE Alumni Scholarship is given annually to a student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, for one year only. The recipient is not eligible to compete in subsequent years. The recipient will be selected in the spring semester and the scholarship presentation made at the annual spring Student/Faculty Awards Banquet.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The recipient must show proof of financial need.
  3. The recipient must have a good academic record.

Selection Process :

The Department will obtain a list of students qualified for financial aid from the Office of Student Financial Aids. The Scholarship and Awards Committee will select four sophomores and four juniors to be nominated for the scholarship. The eight students will be asked to submit a typewritten statement not to exceed two pages, double-spaced. The statement should tell "what the applicant hopes to accomplish with his/her engineering education." The applications are forwarded to the ECE Alumni Board President. Final selection of the recipient is made by a committee consisting of the ECE Alumni President, the ECE Alumni Scholarship Committee and two Board Members appointed by the President.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2020-2021 Junzhe Zhu, Anirudh Kashyap, Yuqi Mao, Xin Jin, Atakan Ozyapici, Vishal Narasimhan
2019-2020 Chenyang Huang, Jia Huang, Varad Khandelwal, Xiangyuan Zhang, Xin Jin, Anirudh Kashyap, Junzhe Zhu, Atakan Ozyapici
2018-2019 Can Gulseren, Samantha Jane Walter, Sean T Ngo, Alkin Iskender Ozyapici
2017-2018 Vikram Anjur, Mengze Sha, Mark Wudtke, Yujie Zhou
2016-2017 Malhar Jere, Patrick Su
2015-2016 Chance Coats
2014-2015 Jonathan Pan-Doh
2013-2014 Matthew Tsao
2012-2013 Michael Lowney
2011-2012 Okan Koksal
2010-2011 Savan Kadakiya
2009-2010 Nathaniel Liu
2008-2009 Richard Otap
2007-2008 Vasko Popstojanov
2006-2007 Paul J. Froeter
2005-2006 Paul Tchertchian
2004-2005 Adam M. Krzesinski
2003-2004 Hyun Jeong
2002-2003 Phillip Atkins
2001-2002 James Simon
2000-2001 Peter Albrecht
1999-2000 Shi Chao Zhang
1998-1999 Eric Macauley
1997-1998 Catherine Hardwicke
1996-1997 Taly Gilat
1995-1996 Kevin Jarboe
1994-1995 Scott R. Lenser
1993-1994 Heather H. Kang
1992-1993 Mark A. Luttrell
1991-1992 Timothy Roethemeyer
1990-1991 Sanjay Agrawal
1989-1990 Mark R. Fister
1988-1989 Thomas G. Ault