skip to main content

Established 1996

Timothy N. Trick

Timothy N. Trick received his B.E.E. degree from the University of Dayton in 1961 and an M.S. in 1962 and PhD in 1966 from Purdue University.

Since he joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering as an assistant professor in 1965, Dr. Trick has been an outstanding professor and administrator. His distinguished record of teaching, research, and administration has been a contributing factor to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering's national and international reputation as one of the leading departments in the field in both undergraduate and graduate education. He was selected to direct the Coordinated Science Laboratory from 1983-85 and served as Head of the Department from 1985-1995.

Under Dr. Trick's direction as Department Head, new courses in integrated circuits, computer-aided design, and digital signal processing were developed for the undergraduate program, as well as a new introductory course for freshmen. Curricula reforms in the department became widely emulated by other electrical and computer engineering departments around the United States. As a result of his encouragement of his staff to seek equipment donations from industry, the department's instructional laboratories are among the most modern facilities of any university in the United States.


In 1996 the Timothy N. Trick Leadership Award was established to recognize Dr. Trick's leadership of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering for ten years from 1985-1995 as Department Head. The award is given annually to a student in the Department in recognition of good scholarship and demonstrated ability as a future leader of people. While all forms of student leadership shall be considered, greater weight will be given to demonstrated leadership in an engineering context, such as leading a project design team or an Engineering Open House Project.


  1. The award recipient shall be enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  2. The award recipient shall be an undergraduate student or first-year graduate student.
  3. The award recipient shall have demonstrated leadership in an engineering context.
  4. The award recipient shall have a minimum GPA of 3.5.


Applications for the award may be submitted online beginning in January of each year. The applicants will be nominated by a faculty committee.


The recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipient
2019 Richard Nai, Dawn Haken
2018 Sergio Silva
2017 Yuan Chih (Ann) Wu
2016 Sharon Tang
2015 Aijue Liu
2014 Xiong Kai Benjamin Chng
2013 Bussaba Amnueypornsakul
2012 Yuh-Shiuan Liu
2010 Xichen Jiang
2009 Kuang Xu
2008 Erik Johnson
2007 Jason Chang
2006 John Stratton
2005 Ian Tan
2004 Grace Woo
2003 Akshay Naheta
David Petruncio
2002 Jeffrey Vyduna
2001 John M. Hebda
2000 David Wentzlaff
1999 Not given
1998 Shane Ryoo
Poojan Wagh
1997 Nathan D. Culbertson
1996 Brian T. Sleight