skip to main content

IEEE/ECE Alumni Outstanding Sophomore Award

Established 1986


This award is given annually to a student in ECE with 30-60 credit hours and a GPA of 3.50/4.00 or better. The award is sponsored jointly by the ECE Alumni Association and the IEEE student branch.


The recipient must be in his or her sophomore year (30-60 credit hours completed) in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with an outstanding scholastic record.

Selection Process :

The selection is based on a two-page statement discussing campus and community involvement as well as future plans and goals.  A committee made up of IEEE members and ECE alumni meet in the spring to make the final determination of the recipient.


The scholarship carries a stipend and a plaque. The recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2014-2015 Kristi Lin
2013-2014 Samuel Walder
2012-2013 Ahmed Suhyl Sulaiman
2011-2012 Liana Nicklaus
2010-2011 Haichuan Yu
2009-2010 Shreya Prakash
2008-2009 Christine Chan
2007-2008 Anjali Sridhar
2006-2007 David Rockwood
2005-2006 Christopher Co
2004-2005 Rahil Jogani
2003-2004 Grace Wang
2002-2003 John Kohoutek
2001-2002 Laurel Bolhouse
2000-2001 Katherine Sutton
1999-2000 Ray Liu
1998-1999 Ammar Nayfeh
1997-1998 Shane Ryoo
1996-1997 Bradley Wilhelmson
1995-1996 Eric Whisler
1994-1995 Meghan Thornton
1993-1994 Mark Schmitt
1989-1990 Kenta Suzue
1988-1989 Kenneth Skodacek