Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Senior Award

Established 1949

Eta Kappa Nu

Eta Kappa Nu Alpha Chapter was established in 1904 by Mr. Maurice L. Carr, the founder of Eta Kappa Nu. HKN is the International Honor Society for Electrical Engineers. There are over 200 chapters today and it is still growing. Outstanding persons are elected to Eta Kappa Nu primarily from the junior and senior classes of accredited undergraduate programs. Graduate Students and distinguished professional engineers are also eligible. Eligibility, naturally, must depend on marked ability, as evidenced by scholarship, personal character, useful voluntary services, and distinguished accomplishments, all of which indicate that the candidate will be or is a success in his profession.


While one of its purposes certainly is the stimulation and reward of scholarship, Eta Kappa Nu has a far broader purpose than merely to award a badge of distinction to scholars. As conceived by its founders and as carried forward by its membership during more than two generations, another aim is to assist its members throughout their lives in becoming better professionals as well as better citizens. In turn, it is still another purpose of the organization, that its members be a constructive force, helping fellow members and non-members alike to improve the standards of the profession, the courses of instruction, and the institutions generally where its chapters are established.


The Outstanding Senior competition is conducted each academic year by the Alpha Chapter of Eta Kappa Nu to honor one member of the senior class in electrical and computer engineering.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Must be a senior in ECE and within one year of graduation
  3. Must have maintained a high scholastic average
  4. Must have distinguished himself or herself as a leader in college or professional activities
  5. Must be able to perform in social as well as in work situations in a manner that favorably reflects the institution he or she represents. This requires personality, hard work, and the ability to apply one's knowledge and experience.


Qualified applicants may fill out a questionnaire available in the HKN office or may be nominated by faculty during Spring semester.


  1. Review of academic grades
  2. Faculty nominations
  3. Preliminary selection by a student committee (which does not include any eligible seniors)
  4. Final selection by a student-faculty committee


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2019 James Wyeth
2018 Yikuan Chen
2017 Yuan Chih (Ann) Wu
2016 Anit Gandhi
2015 Ahmed Suhyl Sulaiman
2014 Ankit Jain
2013 Neha Shafizadah
2012 Ekta Shah
2011 Chas Gualberto
2010 Ramya Amancharla
2009 Kuang Xu

Andrew Muehlfeld

2007 Rahil Jogani
2006 Praveen Bommannavar
2005 Alexander Spektor
2004 Phillip Lachman
2003 Ian Steiner
2002 Stephen Kohen
2001 Jennifer Talmadge
2000 Yang Zheng
1999 Hillery Hunter
1998 Eric Midlock
1997 Ellina N. Tang
1996 Thomas P. Wallisch


Sridhar Iyengar
1994 David E. Pearah
1993 James E. McCormick
Jeffrey A. Meunier
1992 Scott A. Papineau
Binal J. Patel
1991 Amanda J. Watson
James R. Janninck
1990 Michael T. Fresina
Subadra Varadarajan
1989 Rob Palandech
Clark Miller
1988 K. Jeffrey Rabourn
Michael Raschke
1987 Reza Ghanbari
Ken Kubiak
1986 Paul Wysocki
1985 Kathy L. Schleicher
Daniel Loeger
Walter Block
1984 Thomas Resman
Sheldon Gilbert
Raymond Prill
1983 Daryl Lynn Farley
Frank Ritter
1982 Michael Bianco
1981 David W. Archer
1980 Todd Beanblossom
Bruce Mather
David Kaser
John Resman
1978 Michael McNamee
1977 Judith Lifton
Eric Nagel
Robert Schleicher
James Tendick
1976 Clifton Alston
Ralph Pasquinelli
Jack Steiner
Daniel Swanson Jr.
James Thalmann
Kenneth Turkowski
1975 Craig Chatterton
David Druz
Michael Kotzin
James Lanxon
Edward Morse
Gary Sgrignoli
1974 Joseph Byers
Paul Bodenstab
David Borth
William Buford Jr.
Domingo Poletti-Liuzzi
Douglas Dowden
David Hershberger
1973 Ken Barr
John Schmidt
Roger Haskin
John Allemong
Don Blyly
Jerry Mason
Robert Ruby
Susan Smith
Gregory Stangel
Scott Woodard
1972 Allen W. Bettner
Michael L. VanBlaricum
1971 Gregory W. Zack
Franklin D. Ubell
1970 John R. Gearhart
John D. Hancock
1969 Robert S. Moss
Donald A. Hanson
1968 Ronald J. Dale
Jack Hammond
1967 Vincent E. O'Brien
Richard E. Anderson
1966 Michael A. Levin
James M. Davis
1965 Donald J. Leverenz
Larry S. Nixon
1964 Michael W. Saad
Joseph E. Rokus
1963 Edward R. Dornseif
Andrew Neureuther
1962 Robert R. Wilde
Steven B. Sample
1961 Daniel U. Wilde
Charles E. Becherer
1960 William E. Kunz
1957 Dennis G. Eksten
1956 Joseph J. Lang
1955 Joseph Killpatrick
1954 Robert N. Dufore
1953 John L. Muerle
1952 Elwood R. Schmidt
1951 J. Robert Stone
Paul A. Vance
1950 Robert P. Scott
Edward W. Schwarz
1949 Edward W. Ernst