Marcia Peterman Memorial Award

Established 1985

Marcia Peterman
Marcia Peterman

Marcia Peterman

Marcia Peterman attended Rockford Business College and School of Music, 1928-30, earning a business music associate degree. She also took classes at UIUC, where she began working in 1930. She was the first Clerk-Stenographer in the Department of Electrical Engineering. During the time she was with the Department, she became office supervisor of clerical staff assisting a faculty of more than 100, served as secretary and adviser to four department heads, and provided help and guidance to whole generations of students and alumni. Although she retired officially in 1977, she was reappointed on a fractional time basis as Staff Associate to continue her work with and for the alumni of the department. She retired for the second time in 1983.

She received the UI Alumni Association Loyalty Award in 1975, the Alumni Association Appreciation Award in 1972, the HKN Award in 1967, and the AIEE Honor in 1975. Her warmth and kindness toward the students and faculty in the Department kept her in their hearts long after they left the University. They set up this award to honor her memory after her death in October 1984.


The Marcia Peterman Memorial Award has been established by alumni and friends to honor the memory of Marcia Peterman, who was a member of the staff of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering from 1930 to 1983. She was well known for her many contributions to campus and community affairs and for her concern for students and alumni of the Department.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Must be a senior in ECE within one year of graduation at the time the award is made.
  3. Must have demonstrated good scholarship through the junior year and have a grade point average in the top one-half of his/her class.
  4. Must have participated in campus student activities demonstrating concern for other students and individuals; shall have provided assistance to classmates, participated in organizations or groups that offer support and help to other students, or engaged in other activities which benefit others.


Applications for the award may be submitted online beginning in January of each year. The awards committee will review finalists and make the final decision during the Spring semester.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during the annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2022-2023 Michael Grawe, Ji Shi, Kewei Song, Shuen Wu, Alex Zhang
2020-2021 Andrew Fortunat, Joseph Ravichandran
2019-2020 Yue Yuan
2018-2017 Kristi Lin
2017-2018 Robert Tyler Hansen, Zikang Tong
2016-2017 Andrew Kluemke
2015-2016 Tori Fujinami
2014-2015 Isha Datye, Yuting Ng
2013-2014 Aiyin Liu
2012-2013 Pallav Pathak, Sai Ma
2011-2012 Fan-Chung Hsu
2010-2011 Matthew Trower
2009-2010 Mengzhu Bai, Jun Da Lee
2008-2009 Catherine Wah
2007-2008 Rahil Jogani, Ankeet Patel
2006-2007 Pankil Dharia, Xi Lin
2005-2006 Dianna Liu
2004-2005 Nicholas McDonnell
2003-2004 Kavi Goel
2002-2003 Jeffrey Vyduna
2001-2002 Joseph Comberiate, Jennifer Talmadge
2000-2001 Shane Ryoo
1999-2000 Kevin R. King
1998-1999 Tesha Sengupta
1997-1998 William L. Terrill
1996-1997 Dana L. Marcotte
1995-1996 Amit Dhawan, David E. Pearah
1994-1995 Erini E. Doss, James A. Kay
1993-1994 David A. Ahmari, Binal J. Patel
1992-1993 Paula H. Alban, Keith D. Johnson
1991-1992 Ramesh Subramani
1990-1991 Rande Johnson
1989-1990 Karim Tadros
1988-1989 Emy Tan
1987-1988 Peter B. Hardin
1986-1987 Alison J. Arnoff