skip to main content

Established 1997

This award was established as a memorial for Michael Edward Napier, a January 1993 graduate of the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.


This award was established to recognize and reward an outstanding junior in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department who has achieved scholastic excellence while helping finance his/her education through employment during their college career.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The award recipient shall have a high scholastic average.
  3. The award recipient shall be a junior in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  4. The award recipient shall have contributed to financing his education through employment during school.


The Napier Award is one of four awards in the Department specifically for Juniors. Applications for the award may be submitted online beginning in January of each year. The top candidates are interviewed by a faculty committee.


The recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipient
2019 Yurui Cao
2018 Dennis Rich
2017 Kristi Lin
2016 Mark Hafter
2015 Matthew Vilim
2014 Tori Fujinami
2013 Isha Datye, Shyam Saladi
2012 Mo Deng
2011 Xingliang Wu
2010 Fan-Chung Hsu
2009 Kanishka Kumar
2008 I-Ru Chen
2007 Thomas Galvin
2006 Sapan Agarwal
2005 Wilson Yum
2004 Grace Wang
2003 Danish Nagda
2002 Kavi Goel
2001 Osama Nayfeh
2000 Vamshidhar R. Kommineni
1999 Anthony J. Braskich
1998 Shane Ryoo