Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Junior Award

Established 1904

Eta Kappa Nu

Eta Kappa Nu Alpha Chapter was established in 1904 by Mr. Maurice L. Carr, the founder of Eta Kappa Nu. HKN is the International Honor Society for Electrical Engineers. There are over 200 chapters today and still growing. Outstanding persons are elected to Eta Kappa Nu primarily from the junior and senior classes of accredited undergraduate programs. Graduate Students and distinguished professional engineers are also eligible. Eligibility, naturally, must depend on marked ability, as evidenced by scholarship, personal character, useful voluntary services, and distinguished accomplishments, all of which indicate that the candidate will be or is a success in his profession.

While one of its purposes certainly is the stimulation and reward of scholarship, Eta Kappa Nu has a far broader purpose than merely to award a badge of distinction to scholars. As conceived by its founders and as carried forward by its membership during more than two generations, another aim is to assist its members throughout their lives in becoming better professionals as well as better citizens. In turn, it is still another purpose of the organization, that its members be a constructive force, helping fellow members and non-members alike to improve the standards of the profession, the courses of instruction, and the institutions generally where its chapters are established.


The Outstanding Junior competition is conducted each academic year by the Alpha Chapter of Eta Kappa Nu to honor one member of the junior class in electrical and computer engineering.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Must be a Junior in ECE.
  3. Must have maintained a high scholastic average
  4. Must have distinguished himself or herself as a leader in college or professional activities.
  5. Must be able to perform in social as well as in work situations in a manner that favorably reflects the institution he or she represents. This requires personality, hard work, and the ability to apply one's knowledge and experience.


Qualified applicants may fill out a questionnaire available in the HKN office or may be nominated by faculty during Spring semester.


  1. Review of academic grades
  2. Faculty nominations
  3. Preliminary selection by a student committee (which does not include any eligible juniors)
  4. Final selection by a student-faculty committee


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2020-2021 Andrew Fortunat
Pooja Kankani
2019-2020 Keshav Harisrikanth
2018-2019 Steven Kolaczkowski
2017-2018 Alec Wasowicz
2016-2017 Mosab Elagha
2015-2016 David Ren
2014-2015 Not awarded
2013-2014 Not awarded
2012-2013 David Goldstein
2011-2012 Jacob Mass
2010-2011 Joanna Kwak
2009-2010 Christopher Li
2008-2009 I-Ru Chen
2007-2008 Daniel Joe
2006-2007 Wilson Yum
2005-2006 Nikhil Pandit
2004-2005 Ting Feng Toh
2003-2004 Jeffrey Chieh
2002-2003 Akshay Naheta
2001-2002 Ray Liu
2000-2001 Hanching Fuh
1999-2000 George Gemelos
1998-1999 Ashish Pandya
Samantha Sutton
1997-1998 Poojan Wagh
1996-1997 William Terrill
1994-1995 Amit Dhawan
1993-1994 Prabal Chakrabart
1992-1993 Andrew D. Skale
1991-1992 Bryan D. Robb
1990-1991 G. Matthew Murphy
1989-1990 Steven A. Boppart
1988-1989 Karim H. Tadros
1987-1988 Ken E. Kubiak