skip to main content

Robert H. Jung and Lisa J. Chan Award in Electrical Engineering

Established 2007


Robert H. Jung (BSEE '87) and Lisa J. Chan (BSEE '87) provided funds to support outstanding students in ECE.


The recipients must be juniors or seniors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with an outstanding scholastic record. The recipient must maintain a 3.0 average, demonstrate financial need, and show engagement in community service. Preference will be given to previous winners.

Selection Process :

In September the ECE Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 15% of the junior class and the top 15% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award.


The recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2019 Qingyi Wang
2018 Qingyi Wang
2017 Mosab Elagha, Justin Miron
2016 Justin Miron
2015 Daniel Nguyen
2014 Hershed Tilak
2013 Neil Christanto, Hershed Tilak, Jeffrey Lale, Kaiyuan Wang