skip to main content

Established 2002

M. Stanley Helm

M. Stanley Helm was born on Oct. 28, 1911, in Decatur, Ill. He started his career at the UI as an instructor in 1938 after gaining four years of experience in illumination at Illinois Power Company and motor control at Midstate Electric Company in Decatur.

In 1946, Prentice Hall published his book with Carl Skroder "Circuit Analysis by Laboratory Methods." In 1950, he received the EE Professional Degree and continued his career as a Professor of Electrical Engineering. During this time he received numerous teaching awards from the University of Illinois and the electric power industry. His research made contributions to what has now become known as "power quality".

Stan retired in 1982, but continued to be active in the American Power Conference and the IEEE Power Engineering Education Committee. He also continued as the coordinator for the Power Affiliates Program in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He served on the departmental alumni board from 1970-1995. He was recognized with the UI Loyalty Award and the 1996 Marcia Peterman ECE Award. He was a member of Tau Beta Pi, Eta Kappa Nu, Sigma Xi, and Sigma Tau and was a registered Professional Engineer in the State of Illinois. He died Jan. 21, 2003.


This award was established in 2002 by alumni and friends of M. Stanley Helm to recognize his many contributions through over 65 years of service (1938-2003) as a faculty member in the ECE department. This award is presented to an undergraduate that demonstrates a high level of professionalism and a strong potential for leadership in the area of electric power engineering.


The award recipient will be selected by the Power and Energy Systems Area Committee.


The award recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April. A plaque listing all recipients' names is permanently displayed in Everitt Lab.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2019 Jacob Taylor
2018 Jeffrey Weinberg
2017 Felipe Fregoso
2016 Carl Haken
2015 Evan Richards
2014 Terry Green
2013 Joshua Garcia Sheridan
Alexander Lincoln
2012 Philip Calderon
Andrew Neaville
2011 Michael Carney
2010 Xichen Jiang
2009 Charles Murray
2008 Kevin Toomey
2007 Leonor Linares
2006 Christopher Livesay
2005 Dustin Kramer
2004 Jeremiah Smith
2003 Becky A. Westendorf
2002 Jennifer K. Urbance