Paul R. Egbert Memorial Award

Established 1985

Paul R. Egbert

Paul R. Egbert received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering with high honors in 1936 from the University of Illinois. After working at Commonwealth Edison Company, where he got extensive on the job experience in power engineering, he returned to UIUC and received an M.S. in Electrical Engineering in 1949. He joined the University of Illinois in 1949 as an Assistant Professor, and became an Associate Professor in 1951.

He was a counselor of the student branch of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for over eight years and served on the Assembly Hall Advisory Board for three years. He served a three-year term on the Illini Union Board and was its chairman for two years.

Professor Egbert was a registered professional engineer in Illinois and was a member of the IEEE, Eta Kappa Nu, Pi Mu Epsilon, and Sigma Phi Delta. Mr. Egbert retired from the University of Illinois in 1979. He died Nov. 3, 1985.


This award was established to honor the memory of Paul R. Egbert, a member of the electrical engineering faculty for 33 years. The award honors an outstanding undergraduate senior in the area of Power Engineering.


  1. Must be an outstanding Senior at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Must have demonstrated an interest in a career in Power Engineering.
  3. Must be active in outside activities such as EOH, IEEE, or HKN.

Selection Process:

Selection of the award recipient shall be made by a committee in the Power Engineering Area.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2022-2023 Annabelle Epplin
2020-2021 Justin Meyer
2019-2020 Ansel Higgs
2018-2019 Lauren Klindworth
2017-2018 Amanda Beck
2016-2017 Quan Chen
2015-2016 Benedict Foo
2014-2015 Felix Hsiao
2013-2014 Christopher Barth
Yuchen Hughes
2012-2013 Cheng Xu
2011-2012 Mahir Gosalia
2010-2011 Daniel Huss
2009-2010 Samantha Gunter
2008-2009 Gregory Eakins
2007-2008 Andrew Friedl
2006-2007 Scott Donahue
2005-2006 Thomas Abram
2004-2005 David O. Savageau
2003-2004 Brett M. Nee
2002-2003 Piotr K. Kondratko
2001-2002 Michael A. Vaughn
2000-2001 Ryan E. Berube
1999-2000 Eric Cunningham
1998-1999 Brian R. Borchers
1997-1998 Kollin J. Patten
1996-1997 Thomas P. Wallisch
1995-1996 Stephen M. Heal
1994-1995 Caroline M. Marzinzik
1993-1994 Scott A. Splater
1992-1993 Douglas R. Brown
1991-1992 Kris R. Kozielek
1990-1991 Roy A. McCann
1989-1990 Jennifer Sterling
1988-1989 Thomas M. Weber
1987-1988 Alexander C. Crossman
1986-1987 Laureen M. Harvath