Daniel W. and Carol A. Dobberpuhl Student Award

Established 2007

An Illinois native, Dan Dobberpuhl (BSEE ’67) has had a vibrant career including the U.S. Department of Defense and the General Electric Integrated Circuits Lab. In 1976, he moved to the microprocessor industry with the Semiconductor Engineering Group at Digital Equipment Corporation where he started as a design engineer and rose to become one of five senior corporate consulting engineers. In 1993, he founded and directed two DEC Design Centers where the high performance, low power StrongARM chip was developed. Later, he co-founded SiByte, leading the design of the first commercial Multi-Core SOC processor. After acquisition, he co-founded P.A. Semi, a fabless semiconductor company that designed the PWRficient family of Power Architecture processors, which was acquired by Apple in 2008. He and his wife Carol recently celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary. They have two children and two grandchildren, and currently reside in California.


Daniel W. and Carol A. Dobberpuhl provided funds for this scholarship to benefit students in the ECE Department who demonstrate financial need.


The recipients must be juniors or seniors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with an outstanding scholastic record.

Selection Process :

In September the ECE Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 15% of the junior class and the top 15% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients

Yu-Chen Chang, Hongyu Chen, Jiaru Zou

2020-2021 Arun Gupta, Muhammed Toy
2019-2020 Shreyas Gandlur, Kuilin Li
2018-2019 Steven Zheng, Xiaoqiao Hu, Pooja Kankani, Seunghyun Lee, Dohun Jeong, Lijian Wang
2017-2018 Weikum (Spencer) Zhu
2016-2017 Robert Kaufman, Yu Meng, Shaoyu Meng
2015-2016 Graham Ellinghausen
2014-2015 Benjamin Eng
2013-2014 Narae Yoon
2012-2013 Danyang Zhuo, David Zeng
2011-2012 Mayank Kejriwal, Shiyang Liu
2010-2011 Wanya Huang
2009-2010 Sumit Dutta