Established 2008


This fellowship is given to students interested in the use of a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) in parallel computing, the use of a GPU in solving high performance computing problems, and the development of applications for the GPU.


  • The recipient must be a graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  • The recipient must have demonstrated research in the use of a Graphics Pricessing Unit (GPU).
  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.


  • Applications for the fellowship may be submitted online. The application period will be advertised on My.ECE during the Spring semester.

Selection Process

The Department's Fellowship Committee reviews the nomination and makes the selection.

Past Recipients of the Award

School Year Recipient
2018-2019 Youjie Li
2017-2018 Mert Hidayetoglu, Carl Pearson
2016-2017 Izzat El Hajj
2015-2016 Johnathan Alsop
2014-2015 Jian Guan
2013-2014 Hoa Pham, Matthew Johnson
2012-2013 Li-Wen Chang
2011-2012 Matthew Johnson
2010-2011 Xiao-Long Wu
2009-2010 John Stratton
2008-2009 John Stratton