E. A. Reid Fellowship

Established 1983


In 1983 Mrs. Nell W. Reid established the Ernest A. Reid Fellowship Award in Honor of her husband who taught in our department from 1917 to 1956. The fund was set up to encourage graduate students pursuing the PhD to consider an academic career. It is the donor's desire that "deserving...students interested in pursuing a course of study resulting in teaching of electrical engineering" be given preference.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Academic performance as demonstrated by (but not restricted to) coursework and grades, recommendations, and previous recognition (awards).
  3. Demonstrated interest in engineering education, including teaching experience in the classroom, laboratory or as a tutor; extracurricular teaching, such as demonstrations to high schools, scout troops or other outreach; service to the community which promotes technical awareness; and research or other outreach activities promoting engineering education.
  4. Research accomplishments, ability or potential as evidenced by publications, presentations, letter of recommendation, and the student's essay.
  5. Assessment of the student's commitment to and potential for contributing to engineering education based on the student's essay, letters of recommendation, and previous performance.
  6. Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.


  1. Applications for the fellowship may be submitted online and will include an essay of approximately one page by the student nominee. The essay should describe the student's career goals, how these goals will impact engineering education, and how the student's PhD program will help accomplish those goals.
  2. The application period will be advertised on My.ECE during the Spring semester.

Selection Process

The Department fellowship committee reviews the applications and selects the recipient.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

School Year Recipients
2022-2023 Steffan Link, Yamuna Phal, Yulin He
2021-2022 Raman Kumar, Christopher Ryu, Hussein Sibai
2019-2020 Corey Snyder, Sakshi Srivastava
2018-2019 Aditi Udupa, Carl William Pearson, Pouyan Karimi, Fu Chen Hsiao
2017-2018 Hsuan-Ping Lee
2016-2017 Christopher Barth, Zichao Ye
2015-2016 Henry Duwe
2015-2016 Jacob Bryan, Xu Chen
2014-2015 Michael Jo, Matthew Magill, Steven McKeown, Tan Nguyen, Luke Pfister
2013-2014 Te-Wei Chang, Eric Iverson, Xichen Jian, Ali Khanafer
2012-2013 Sudipta Dutta, Yen-Wei Huang, Mustafa Mir, Zhida Xu
2011-2012 Amir Arbabi, Katherine Rogers, John Stratton, Quanyan Zhu
2010-2011 Hyunjong Jin, Paul Tchertchian, Jayakrishnan (Jay) Unnikrishnan
2009-2010 Geoffrey Herman, Kevin Lin, Mohamed Mohamed, Alexandros Papakonstantinou
2008-2009 Che Lin, Rui Wang
2007-2008 Jonathan Holm, Tung Le, Joseph Tate
2006-2007 Maokun Li, Shreyas Sundaram
2005-2006 Noureddine Tayebi
2004-2005 Marco Amrhein, Robert Balog
2003-2004 Vikas Kawadia
2002-2003 Ronald Barnes, Joseph Mossoba
2001-2002 Jill Nelson, Sopan Joshi
2000-2001 James Melody, Trong Nguyen
1999-2000 Daniel A. Connors
1998-1999 Daniel Weile
1997-1998 Jefferey Minch
1994-1995 Jay Kruse; Gabriel Cueva
1989-1990 James Drewniak
1988-1989 Mariessa Crow, Robert Veillette, Jr.