Harriett and Robert Perry Fellowship Award

Established 1996


In 1996 the Harriett & Robert Perry Fellowship was created by a gift from Robert Perry, an alumnus of our department. Mr. Perry and his late wife wished to establish a fund that would help to ease the financial burden for students in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering seeking an advanced degree.


The awardees are selected using the following criteria:

  • The recipient must be a graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • The recipient must have demonstrated promise in his/her graduate program.
  • The recipient must demonstrate financial need as a result of the need to support a family, lack of funding, etc.
  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.


Applications for the fellowship may be submitted online. The application period will be advertised on My.ECE during the Spring semester.

Selection Process

The Department's Fellowship Committee reviews the nomination and makes the selection.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

School Year Recipient
2022-2023 Amr Ghoname, Christopher Ryu
2021-2022 Nanjie Yu
2018-2019 Sujay Dasgupta
2017-2018 Benjamin Lew
2016-2017 Thinh T. Doan
2015-2016 Thinh T. Doan
2015-2016 Michael Jo
2014-2015 Chen Zhang
2013-2014 Yi Chen
2012-2013 Feng Xiong
2011-2012 Shehla Rana
2010-2011 Nathan Jack
2009-2010 Gang Wang
2008-2009 Lae-Hoon Kim
2007-2008 Hyung-Seok Hahm
Stephen Lindemann
2006-2007 Uttam Reddy
2005-2006 Robert Balog
2004-2005 Ananya Sen Gupta
2003-2004 Yunhui Chu
2002-2003 Mohamed Omar
2001-2002 Sujay Sanghavi
2000-2001 Kiwook Kim
1999-2000 Jonathan Ashbrook
1998-1999 Guobin Liu
1997-1998 Daniel Logue