Hong, McCully, and Allen Fellowship

Established 2012


Se June and Karen McCully Hong endowment fellowship in honor of Mr. Clifton Royal Allen and Mrs. Virginia Astier: Mr. Clifton Royal Allen received a law degree from the University of Southern California in 1911, having been a member of the USC football team. He practiced law in southern California for over forty years. Mr. Allen was a leader of his community and church throughout his life. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge and was active in the local Boy Scouts, receiving his first Silver Beaver award in Orange County, California. Mr. Allen passed away in February 1965, on the eve of the day he was to meet Se June Hong, whom he was sponsoring with a generous private scholarship of $2,000 for graduate work in the United States. His daughter, Mrs. Virginia Astier, volunteered her services for the welfare and education of Latino workers into her nineties.

Out of gratitude to Mr. Allen, Mrs. Astier, and to the University of Illinois which supported his study with a research assistantship, Dr. Se June Hong (MSEE ’67, PhD ’69) and his wife, Karen (BA Social Studies ’68, MA Social Sciences ’69), established this fellowship. This fellowship replaces the C.R. Allen International Student Award which was established by Se June Hong in 1973 and will provide graduate fellowships to students in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. The fund also supports the Robert T. Chien Memorial Fellowship in Electrical Engineering and the Electrical and Computer Engineering Student-Alumni Relations fund annually. The Hong, McCully, and Allen Fellowship will be awarded in the amount of at least $12,000 and may be renewed for two additional academic years if the recipient remains in good academic standing and is making adequate progress toward degree completion.


The awardees are selected using the following criteria:

  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.
  • Academic performance as demonstrated by (but not restricted to) coursework and grades, recommendations, and previous recognition (awards).
  • Preference will go to foreign students from Asia or Latin America who are pursuing a PhD degree in ECE.
  • The Recipient(s) shall be a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and through this membership confirm his or her commitment to abide by its Code of Ethics, now and throughout his or her career.
  • Renewable for up to three years, determined by the ECE Fellowship Committee.


Applications for the fellowship may be submitted online. The application period will be advertised on My.ECE during the Spring semester.

Selection Process

Incoming and first year graduate students are reviewed by the ECE Fellowship Committee each year to decide the fellowship recipients.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

School Year Recipient
2022-2023 Hanwei Wang
2021-2022 Hanwei Wang
2019-2020 Kaiqing Zhang
2018-2019 Kaiqing Zhang
2017-2018 Kaiqing Zhang
2016-2017 Yanjun Li
2015-2016 Hao Jan "Max" Liu
2014-2015 Hao Jan "Max" Liu
2013-2014 Yun Li
2012-2013 Feng Xiong