James M. Henderson Fellowship

Established 1999


In 1999, a fund was set up by Mrs. Joan K. Henderson in memory of her husband who received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering at UIUC in 1947. The fellowship was established to recognize an outstanding first-year graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The fellowship will be awarded based upon the nominee's undergraduate academic achievement, as well as leadership in activities or research as an undergraduate.


The awardees are selected using the following criteria:

  • The recipient must be a first-year graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • The recipient must have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement in their undergraduate program.
  • The recipient must have demonstrated leadership in activities or research while an undergraduate student.
  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.


Applications for the fellowship may be submitted online. The application period will be advertised on My.ECE during the Spring semester.

Selection Process

The ECE Fellowship committee will make the selection based on the applications submitted by the deadline.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

School Year Recipient
2022-2023 Anubhav Bose, Harshitha Sreejith, Milind Kumar Vaddiraju, Yi Zhou
2021-2022 Yulin He, Samhita Marri, Yashaswini Murthy, Taha Ameen ur Rahman
2018-2019 Corey Ethan Snyder, Akshayaa Magesh, Mary Kathleen Dasso, Sourya Basu
2017-2018 Shivang, Wenning Fu, Liuqing Gao
2016-2017 Yamuna Phal, Sharon Tang
2015-2016 Aditi Udupa, Kaiqing Zhang
2015-2016 Jiaqi Mu, Raymond Yeh
2014-2015 Xiong Kai Benjamin Chng, Tiantian Tang
2013-2014 Joseph Silvers, Shaileshh Bojja Venkatakrishnan
2012-2013 Yue Cao, Pooya Khorrami
2011-2012 Sujeeth Bharadwaj, Xichen Jiang
2010-2011 Vikram Chaudhery, Quan Geng
2009-2010 David Jun, Rui Wu
2008-2009 Siva Gorantla
2007-2008 Venkata Annapureddy
2006-2007 Aaron Becker, Bernard Ghanem
2005-2006 Forest P. Dixon
2004-2005 Maha El Choubassi
2003-2004 Tyrone Roach
2002-2003 Vamshidhar Kommineni
2001-2002 Daniel Grasso
2000-2001 Josh Conway