Joan and Lalit Bahl Fellowship

Established 2008


The fellowship was established by Dr. Lalit R. Bahl and Kavita Kinra and will provide graduate fellowships to students in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. Each award will be in the amount of $20,000. The fellowship may be renewed for one additional academic year if the recipient remains in good academic standing and is making adequate progress toward degree completion.


  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.
  • Academic performance as demonstrated by (but not restricted to) coursework and grades, recommendations, and previous recognition (awards).
  • Preference will go to students whose families reside in India or who originated in India.
  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.

Selection Process:

The ECE Fellowship committee will make the selection based on the applications submitted by the deadline.

Past Recipients of the Award:

School Year Recipient
2016-2017 Shripad Gade
Ravi Kiran Raman
Nirupam Roy
Aditi Udupa
2015-2016 Amit Das
Ameya Patil
Nirupam Roy
Shaileshh Bojj Venkatakrishnan
2014-2015 Amit Das
Ameya Patil
Shailesh Bojja Venkatakrishnan
2013-2014 Karthik Balasundaram
Shyamala Devi Malagari
Sabareesh Ravikumar
2012-2013 Sujeeth Bharadwaj
Jonathan Ligo
Saurav Mohapatra
2011-2012 Tejaswi Gorti
Abhishek Singh
2010-2011 Arjun Kripanidhi
2009-2010 Sudipta Dutta
Arjun Kripanidhi
2008-2009 Sudipta Dutta