Yi-Min Wang and Pi-Yu Chung Research Award

Established 2008

Yi-Min Wang and Pi-Yu Chung
Yi-Min Wang and Pi-Yu Chung

Yi-Min Wang and Pi-Yu Chung

Yi-Min Wang received his B.S. degree from the National Taiwan University in 1986, his M.S. in 1990 (under Hua Lee), and Ph.D. in 1993 (under W. Kent Fuchs) from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His thesis was on fault-tolerant computing, for which he received the Robert T. Chien Memorial Award for excellence in graduate research. After spending four and a half years at AT&T Bell Labs in Murray Hill, New Jersey, he joined Microsoft Research in Redmond, Washington in 1998 and is currently the Director of Internet Services Research Center (ISRC). Dr. Wang was elected a Fellow of IEEE for his contributions to dependable computing and web security.

Pi-Yu Chung met Yi-Min at the National Taiwan University where she also received B.S degree in 1986. They were married in 1988 and went to the University of Illinois for graduate study. Their sons, Jeffrey and Andrew, were born in Urbana in 1989 and 1993. Pi-Yu received her M.S. degree and Ph.D. (under Ibrahim Hajj) shortly after each child’s birth. She worked at Bell Labs until 1999 and is currently a Consulting Member of Technical Staff at Oracle. She is passionate about education and shares her thoughts in her blog at OverParenting.com.


The Yi-Min Wang and Pi-Yu Chung ECE Research Award Endowed Fund was established in 2008 to sponsor a research award to be made annually to a doctoral graduate student who has demonstrated excellence in research in Dr. Wang and Dr. Chung’s field of interest. It is hoped that the recipients of this award will in turn help future students by contributing to this fund or establishing new awards as they are able.


In order to be eligible for this award a student must meet the following criteria:

  1. The award recipient shall be enrolled in the College of Engineering of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  2. The award recipient shall be a doctoral degree candidate in electrical engineering who has successfully passed his or her qualifying examination
  3. The award recipient shall demonstrate excellence in research in the field of computer engineering.


The online application forms will be advertised on My.ECE. The ECE Fellowship Committee meets to go over the applications and select the recipient. A complete application should consist of the student's resume, his/her list of publications, and two letters of recommendation (one from the research adviser). Applications will be due in February.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2022-2023 Nathaniel Bleier, Kun Wu
2021-2022 Yibo Zhao
2020-2021 Mert Hidayetoglu
2019-2020 I (Eli) Chien
2018-2019 Yuan Ting Hu, Yuheng Bu
2017-2018 Varun Badrinath Krishna
2016-2017 Chuchu Fan
2015-2016 Tsung-Wei Huang
2014-2015 Qiaomin Xie
2013-2014 Po-Sen Huang
2012-2013 Joseph Sloan, Taylor Johnson
2011-2012 Rami Abdallah
2010-2011 I-Jui Sung
2009-2010 Rachit Agarwal