skip to main content

Gregory Stillman Semiconductor Research Award

Established 1996

Gregory Stillman

Gregory Stillman received a B.S. from the University of Nebraska in 1958, an M.S. in 1965, and PhD in 1967 from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Greg was a pilot in the USAF Strategic Air Command from 1958 to 1963, when he began graduate school at the University of Illinois. After completing his PhD in 1967 he served as a staff member of the MIT Lincoln Laboratories. In 1975, Greg Stillman joined the University of Illinois as a Professor of Electrical Engineering.

Greg was a member of the National Academy of Engineering; a recipient of the IEEE Jack A. Morton Award, the Heinrich Welker Medal, and GaAs Symposium Award; a fellow of the IEEE; and a principal founder of the Microelectronics Laboratory on the U of I campus. He served as the first director of the Center for Compound Semiconductor Microelectronics. Greg was noted for his contributions to the IIIV semiconductor field--including his pioneering work in ultra-pure GaAs characterization and avalanche photodetector development.


The Gregory Stillman Semiconductor Research Award was established by his colleagues and former students in1996 to honor his sixtieth birthday. Professor Stillman was a member of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Faculty from 1975 until his death in 1999. The award is presented to one or two doctoral students who have demonstrated excellence in semiconductor research.


  1. The award recipient shall be enrolled in the PhD program of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  2. The award recipient shall have successfully passed his or her qualifying exam.
  3. The award recipient shall have demonstrated excellence in research in the field of Semiconductor Research.


The online application form will be advertised on My.ECE. A complete application should consist of the student’s resume, his/her list of publications, and 2 letters of recommendation (one from the research adviser).


All applications for the Award will be judged by the ECE Graduate Fellowship Committee based on the above criteria.


The recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April. The name of the recipient is engraved on a plaque to be displayed permanently in Everitt Lab.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipient
2019 Junyi Qiu, Kihoon Park, Hsuan-Ping Lee
2018 Yu-Ting Peng
2017 Youngseok Kim, Aditya Sarathy
2016 Stewart Fryslie
2015 Chen Zhang
2014 Rohan Bambery, Vincent Dorgan
2013 Liang Pang
2012 Feng Xiong, David Estrada
2011 Albert Liao, Mark Stuenkel
2010 Farzan Farbiz, Antonio Giannopoulos
2009 Zlatan Aksamija, Han Wui Then
2008 William Snodgrass
2007 Lingxiao Zhang
2006 Yu-Ju Chuang, Daniel Grasso
2005 Laura Ruppalt, Richard Chan
2004 Aaron J. Danner, Jie-Wei Lai
2003 Kuo-Lih Chang, Theodore H. Chung
2002 Michael Hattendorf, Gregory Pickrell
2001 Aaron Thean, Shyh-Chiang Shen
2000 Mark Hersam
1999 Aaditya Mahajan
1998 Jon Wierer
1997 Mohamed Arafa