John Bardeen Memorial Graduate Research Award

Established 2000


John Bardeen

The John Bardeen Memorial Graduate Research Award was established to honor the memory of Dr. John Bardeen and his outstanding contribution to Electrical Engineering and the development of electronic devices. The award is presented to a doctoral student who has demonstrated excellence in research in electronic devices.


The awardees are selected using the following criteria:

  • The award recipient shall be enrolled in the PhD program of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
  • The award recipient shall have successfully passed his or her qualifying examination; and
  • The award recipient shall demonstrate excellence in research in the area of electronic devices.


The online application forms will be advertised on My.ECE. A complete application should consist of the student’s resume, his/her list of publications, and 2 letters of recommendation (one from the research adviser).


All applications for the Award will be judged by the ECE Graduate Fellowship Committee based on the above criteria.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipient
2022-2023 Nusrat Jahan
2021-2022 Dufei Wu, Hongliang Li
2020-2021 Fu Chen Hsiao, Patrick Su
2019-2020 Hsiao-Lun Wang
2018-2019 Shang-Chun Lu
2017-2018 Zihe Gao
2016-2017 Yi Song
2015-2016 Wen Huang
2014-2015 Feng Xiong
2013-2014 Fei Tan
2012-2013 Joshua Wood
2011-2012 David Estrada
2010-2011 Adam James
2009-2010 William Snodgrass
2008-2009 Han Wui Then
2007-2008 Noureddine Tayebi
2006-2007 Shu-Wei Chang
2005-2006 Zhenhua Zhang
2004-2005 Walid M. Hafez