Hasegawa-Johnson: M. E. Van Valkenburg Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering

M. E. Van Valkenburg Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering

M.E. Van Valkenburg earned a B.S from the University of Utah in 1943, an M.S. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1946, and a Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1952, all in electrical engineering. 

Professor Van Valkenburg first joined the faculty at Illinois in 1955. From 1966 to 1974, he served as professor and head of electrical engineering at Princeton University before returning to Illinois. In 1984, he became dean of the College of Engineering and, during the 1980s, he helped steer the institution to national prominence. 

A member of the National Academy of Engineering, Professor Van Valkenburg received the Lamme Medal, the highest honor of the American Society for Engineering Education; the George Westinghouse Award; the Education Medal of the IEEE; and the Halliburton Engineering Education Leadership Award of the College of Engineering. He authored seven textbooks. 

Professor Van Valkenburg died in Orem, Utah, on March 13, 1997. 

The M. E. Van Valkenburg Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering was endowed by a sizeable group of his students, friends, and colleagues.


Faculty: Mark Hasegawa-Johnson

Mark Hasegawa-Johnson
Mark Hasegawa-Johnson

Mark Hasegawa-Johnson has been on the faculty at the University of Illinois since 1999, where he is currently a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering.  He received his Ph.D. in 1996 at MIT, with a thesis titled "Formant and Burst Spectral Measures with Quantitative Error Models for Speech Sound Classification," after which he was a post-doc at UCLA from 1996-1999. Hasegawa-Johnson is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America (2011, for contributions to vocal tract and speech modeling) and a Fellow of the IEEE (2020, for contributions to speech processing of under-resourced languages). He is currently Senior Area Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Audio, Speech and Language, and a member of the ISCA Diversity Committee. He has published 308 peer-reviewed journal articles, patents and conference papers in the general area of automatic speech analysis, including machine learning models of articulatory and acoustic phonetics, prosody, dysarthria, non-speech acoustic events, audio source separation and under-resourced languages.