Veeravalli and his students receive Abraham Wald Prize in Sequential Analysis


Eleanor Wyllie

ECE alumni Craig Wilson and Yuheng Bu and Professor Venugopal V. Veeravalli have received the 16th Abraham Wald Prize in Sequential Analysis for their paper “Adaptive sequential machine learning” published in Sequential Analysis in 2019. The award was delayed due to the pandemic, but their achievements will be celebrated at the next International Workshop in Sequential Methodologies, scheduled to take place in Ouro Pret, Brazil in June 2023. 

This is the second time Professor Veeravalli and his students have received the Wald Prize in Sequential Analysis: in 2016, alumnus Taposh Banerjee and Professor Veeravalli were given the award for their paper “Data-efficient minimax quickest change detection in a decentralized system.”

The Abraham Wald Prize in Sequential Analysis is one of the most prestigious awards in the field, honoring the best publication in the journal Sequential Analysis each year. Established in 2004, the prize is named for mathematician Abraham Wald who founded the field of sequential analysis.