Hwu elected IEEE TCuARCH Chair

ECE News

2/13/2018 3:32:22 PM

Story Highlights

ECE ILLINOIS Professor Wen-mei Hwu, AMD Jerry Sanders Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was recently elected as the IEEE Technical Committee on Microprogramming and Microarchitecture (TCuARCH) Chair. 

Wen-mei  Hwu
Wen-mei Hwu
Hwu is also affiliated with the CSL. 

As the chair of TCuARCH, Hwu will help with the committee's goal to address "all aspects of microarchitecture including but not limited to high performance and low power processors (superscalar, VLIW, multithreading, multi-core, vector, etc.), memory hierarchies, compiler optimization, and instruction-level parallelism."  Hwu will also help sponsor workshops, tutorials, and conferences, including the International Symposium on Microarchitecture.

According to his position statement, Hwu hopes to work with the MICRO Steering Committee and Organizing Committees to develop new mechanisms, employ appropriate technology, and improve the reviewing process. Furthermore, Hwu plans to improve the diversity of the community by providing TCuARCH support for people from different backgrounds and constraints.

He will also aim to increase the global reach of TCuARCH by striving to make it more inclusive and representative of the microarchitecture community. In addition, Hwu will encourage contributions from other countries, renew and diversify the TCuARCH/MICRO management with contributors that care about the conferences to strength the community and preserve its innovative spirit. 

Media Contact

Todd Sweet

Director of Communications
1066 ECE Building
(217) 333-5943