John and Sheila Woythal Scholarship

Established 2010


This scholarship was created by John and Sheila Woythal to support undergraduate students in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. John was a 1951 graduate of Loyola Academy, Wilmette. He earned a Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering from the University of Illinois, class of 1956, a Master of Business Administration from St. Louis University in 1971. He served two years in the U.S. Army from 1956 to 1958 and spent most of his working life employed at McDonnell-Douglas Corp. where he worked both in St. Louis and in the United Kingdom. Once retired, he and Shelia moved to Urbana.

His professional designations and memberships include Registered Professional Engineer (PE) in Virginia and Missouri; Chartered Engineer in in the United Kingdom; National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE); Missouri Society of Professional Engineers (MSPE); Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers(IEEE); and Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) in the United Kingdom.  John truly was a supporter of the Illini.

He bled orange and blue. He served on the ECE Alumni Board and was a member of the U of I Presidents Council, U of I Alumni Association, The I Fund, Quarterback Club and Rebounders Club, and was a past president of the St. Louis Alumni Club. For many years, he assisted in alumni, athletic and foundation events in St. Louis.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2023-2024 John Burns, Cameron Fuller, Luke Granger, Siddarth Iyer, Jason Jung, Allison Kao, Josh Litao, Binh Minh Nguyen, Pranav Rajpal, Stefan Sokolowski, Alec Thompson
2022-2023 Sevan Brodjian, Jason Flanagan,Michael Grawe, Matthew Jin, Joshua Litao, Daniel Piper, Max Shepherd, Shuen Wu, Alex Yuan, Stephen Zhu
2021-2022 Jason Pan, Anna Miller, Matthew Jin, Madeline Shunk, Timothy Green, Elizabeth Boehning, Ryan Day, Edwin Louie, David Ho, Pieter Svenson, James Soole
2020-2021 Jia Huang, Joseph Ravichandran, Teja Gupta, Benjamin Cross, James Soole, Elizabeth Boehning, William Heniades, Zachary Plumley, David Young, Jason Leung
2019-2020 Shreyas Byndoor, Benjamin Cross, Grzegorz Gruba, John Kyung Han, Bryan Huang, Atakan Ozyapici, Satwik Anjaney Pachigolla, Jonathan Paulson
2018-2019 Francis Edward Roxas