Emma L. Marshall Scholarship

Established 2007


This scholarship was established in honor of Emma Marshall, a long-time employee of the ECE Department. For the final 15 years of her career, Emma was on the alumni board and was the student relations coordinator for the ECE Department. This scholarship was created by the ECE Alumni Board to honor Emma at her retirement in March 2007.


The recipients must be juniors or seniors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with an outstanding scholastic record.

Selection Process:

In September the ECE Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 15% of the Junior Class and the top 15% of the Senior Class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2023-2024 Divyam Arora
2022-2023 Geitanksha Tandon
2021-2022 Kaifeng Wang
2020-2021 Richa Verma
2019-2020 Charles Zhang
2018-2019 Xi Chen
2017-2018 Qingtao Hu
2016-2017 Bowen Cheng
2015-2016 Edward Wu
2014-2015 Zuozhen Liu
2013-2014 Zhangqi Xu
2012-2013 Yandong Li
2011-2012 Miguel Luigi de Dios
2010-2011 Yuxiao Lu
2009-2010 Michael Carney
2008-2009 Christopher Li