Dr. Kenneth P. and Claire V. Gibbs Scholarship

Established 2010


This scholarship was established by Dr. Kenneth P. (MS '80) and Claire V. Gibbs to provide financial aid to undergraduate students.


The recipients must be juniors or seniors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with an outstanding scholastic record. Preference is given to students with financial need.

Selection Process :

In September the ECE Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 15% of the junior class and the top 15% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award. Three students will be chosen for this scholarship.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2023-2024 Zachary George, Lily Sheng
2022-2023 Dongming Liu, Jason Kim
2021-2022 Noah Conner, Zhuxuan Liu
2020-2021 Aditi Ghosalkar
2019-2020 Peter Leung
2018-2019 Atakan Iskender Ozyapici
2017-2018 Stephanie Wong
2016-2017 Huiyuan Liu
2015-2016 Vibhakar Vemulapati
2014-2015 Shawn Ahn
2013-2014 Junheng Zhu
2012-2013 Liana Nichklaus
2011-2012 Savan Kadakiya
2010-2011 Steven Bettenhausen