Herbert Y. and Stella S. Chang Scholarship

Established 2007


Herbert Y. and Stella S. Chang (PhD '64 and MS statistics '66, respectively) established this endowed scholarship to support female students of Asian, Hispanic, or African American heritage. The intent is to encourage recipients to study for and pursue a career in engineering. The scholarship is awarded annually.


The recipients must be juniors or seniors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with an outstanding scholastic record. Recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA. Preference is given to female students of African-American, Hispanic, or Asian heritage.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipients
2023-2024 Xiaofei He, Jeanjuella Tipan
2022-2023 Hongkun Zeng, Steffi Chen, Jasmine Richmond
2021-2022 Savannah Pagan, Lilian Wang
2020-2021 Yulin He, Yixuan Jia
2019-2020 Yen-Ling Chiang, Xiaolin Wu
2018-2019 Dhruvi G Shah, Xiaoqiao Hu
2017-2018 Yucheng Liang, Sundi Xiao
2016-2017 Qin Li, Yuming Wu
2015-2016 Rewa Sood, Qian Ma
2014-2015 Mary Abbott, Leslie Cheng
2013-2014 Chen Luo, Yujia Zhang
2012-2013 Yunye Gong, Yujia Zhang
2011-2012 Yunye Gong, Yuxiao Lu
2010-2011 Thidarat Chongvisal, Wanya Huang
2009-2010 Anwen Jiang, Hsing-Keng Tsai
2008-2009 Dan Hu, Jun Song