Rambus Computer Engineering Fellowship

Established 1999


Dr. Michael Farmwald donated stock from Rambus, Inc. to the University of Illinois to be used to provide funds for the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The Rambus Computer Engineering Fellowship has been established to recognize a graduate student in the Computer Engineering Area for outstanding research. 


  1. The student must be a graduate student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The student must have demonstrated outstanding research performance in the area of Computer Engineering.
  3. Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.


Applications for the fellowship may be submitted online. The application period will be advertised on My.ECE during the Spring semester.

Selection Process

The Department's Fellowship Committee reviews the nomination and makes the selection.


The recipient(s) will be recognized during an annual Student Awards Banquet. All student recipients are featured on the second floor of the ECE Building's Student Honors Wall.

Past Recipients of the Award

School Year Recipient
2018-2019 Hussein M Sibai, Charbel T Sakr
2017-2018 Sitao Huang, Suraj Jog, Charbel Sakr, Yogatheesan Varatharajah
2016-2017 Johnathan Alsop, Arjun P. Athreya, Varun Badrinath Krishna, Sheng Shen
2015-2016 Chuchu Fan
2015-2016 Tsung-Wei Huang
2014-2015 Haitong Tian
2013-2014 Taylor Johnson
2012-2013 Rachit Agarwal
2011-2012 Alex Papakonstantinou
2010-2011 Prateek Mittal
2009-2010 Tan Yan
2008-2009 Xiaolan Zhang
2007-2008 Not awarded
2006-2007 Samuel Stone
2005-2006 Brian Fahs
2004-2005 Anshul Sehgal
2003-2004 Ronald Barnes
2002-2003 Ashish Jagmohan
2001-2002 Ryan Lefever
2000-2001 David Daly
1999-2000 Rakesh Dugad