College of Engineering honors ECE alumnus with Distinguished Alumni Award

ECE News

Khushboo Jain, ECE ILLINOIS
3/31/2017 9:43:43 AM

Story Highlights

ECE ILLINOIS alumnus Gerald T. Marcyk (BSEE ‘73, MSEE ‘76, PhD ‘78), former Director of Components Research at Intel Corporation, has received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois. 

Marcyk joined Intel Corporation in Hillsboro, Oregon, after graduation where he had a remarkable 24-year career. His research on ion implantation at the Coordinated Science Laboratory during graduate school led him to join Intel’s DRAM technology development group. Starting as a process engineer working on memory and microprocessor development, Marcyk has worked on every microprocessor from the 386 through multiple generations of the Pentium. 

 Gerald T. Marcyk (BSEE '73, MSEE '76, PhD '78)
Gerald T. Marcyk (BSEE '73, MSEE '76, PhD '78)

He has also served as a member of the Technical Advisory Board of the Materials Science Department at Cornell University and as a member of the Technical Advisory Board of the Semiconductor Research Corporation, and he was on the board of trustees of the Portland Waldorf School. He has also served on the board of directors for two start-up companies. 

He retired from Intel in 2002, and his retirement has been far from typical. He has learned conversational Italian, been charged by a grizzly bear in Alaska, and swam with sharks in the Great Barrier Reef. Additionally, he sank an outrigger canoe in Bora Bora, hiked sections of the Pacific Crest Trail, been (perhaps too) close to flowing lava from the Kilauea volcano, rode on Cycle Oregon, pet a cheetah in South Africa, and survived a near-drowning in Hawaii.

The College of Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented at a ceremony on April 1, 2017. Recipients are selected based on their outstanding leadership, creativity, entrepreneurship, and contributions to the field of engineering. This year, seven engineering alumni are being honored for their unparalleled service to society, the professional community, and to their respective departments, the college, and the University. This group includes:

A.L. (Tad) Addy, PhD ’63, Mechanical Engineering 
Darren Guccione, BS ’91,  Industrial Engineering 
Barclay G. Jones, MS ’60, PhD ’66, Nuclear Engineering 
Melvin (Mickey) Kupperman, BS ’57, MS ’58, Civil Engineering 
Der-Tsai (DT) Lee, MS ’76, PhD ’78,  Computer Science 
Gerald T. Marcyk, BS ’73, MS ’76, PhD ’78, Electrical Engineering 
Sandra L. Rankin, BS ’74,  Computer Science 


Media Contact

Julia Sullivan

Assistant Director of Communications
1064 ECE Building
(217) 300-3731

Todd Sweet

Director of Communications
1066 ECE Building
(217) 333-5943