College of Engineering 2011 Hall of Fame class includes four from ECE

ECE News

Rick Kubetz, College of Engineering

Story Highlights

  • The College of Engineering inducted eleven individuals into its Hall of Fame on October 14.
  • This is the second class to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.
  • Those inducted included four luminaries from ECE: Alfredy Y. Cho, William Everitt, Henry Pao, and Chihtang Sah.

On Friday, October 14, 2011, the College of Engineering honored eleven individuals whose significant achievements in leadership, entrepreneurship, and innovation have greatly impacted society. This year, several familiar campus names—Everitt and Newmark—were joined by outstanding alumni as the second class of inductees into the Engineering at Illinois Hall of Fame.

Members of the Hall of Fame Class of 2011 include:

Roy J. Carver
The Illinois alumnus (BS ’34, General Engineering) was a global entrepreneurial industrialist, philanthropist, and innovator; Founder of Carver Industries and Bandag Company, Inc. (Honored posthumously).

Alfred Y. Cho
An Illinois alumnus (BS ’60, MS ’61, PhD ’68, Electrical Engineering), he is considered the “father” of the molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) method for producing novel layered materials used in wireless and optical communications, lasers, and transistors.

William L. Everitt
An international educational leader known for innovative technical contributions to communications systems; as engineering dean (1949-1968), he guided the Illinois engineering program to national prominence (honored posthumously).

Robert H. Liebeck
An Illinois alumnus (BS ’61,  MS ’62, PhD ’68, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering), he is a world-renowned leader in aerodynamics, hydrodynamics, and aircraft design.

Joan L. Mitchell
An Illinois alumnus (MS ’71, PhD ’74, Physics) and former member of the Exploratory Printing Technologies Group at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center; leading developer of  printing technology and image compression methods; co-inventor of the jpeg.

Nathan M. Newmark
An Illinois alumnus (MS ’32, PhD ’34, Civil Engineering, ’78 Honorary Degree), he was a worldwide leader in understanding structural engineering with significant global contributions to geotechnical and earthquake engineering; former head of the Department of Civil Engineering and founding member of the National Academy of Engineering (honored posthumously).

Raymond E. Ozzie
The Illinois alumnus (BS ’79, Computer Science) is a software visionary and entrepreneur who influenced communications and productivity in business; Former Chief Software Architect of Microsoft; Founder of Groove Networks; Creator of Lotus Notes.

Henry C. Pao
An Illinois alumnus (BS ’59, MS ’60, PhD ’66, Electrical Engineering), he is an international leader in entrepreneurial applications of high-voltage integrated circuits for medical ultrasound, flat panel displays, and LED Lighting; Cofounder, President, and CEO of Supertex, Inc.

Alexander Rankin
An Illinois alumnus (BS ’57, Mechanical Engineering) and entrepreneurial leader; Founder and Chairman of Vulcan Spring & Manufacturing Co.

Chihtang Sah
The Illinois alumnus (BS ’53, Electrical Engineering, BS ’53, Engineering Physics) is recognized for pioneering contributions to solid-state electronics in MOS and bipolar technologies.

Rosalyn Sussman Yalow
An Illinois alumnus (MS ’42, PhD ’45, Physics), she was a pioneer in the discovery and development of radioimmunoassay—a revolutionary technique enabling major advances in endocrinology—for which she shared the 1977 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology (honored posthumously).

For further information, visit

Media Contact

Julia Sullivan

Assistant Director of Communications
1064 ECE Building
(217) 300-3731

Todd Sweet

Director of Communications
1066 ECE Building
(217) 333-5943