View everything happening in ECE. Anyone with a campus netid can submit a calendar item.

ECE Distinguished Colloquium Series (ECE 500): "Extreme Photonics"

Originating Calendar ECE ILLINOIS Distinguished Colloquium Series
Speaker Nader Engheta, University of Pennsylvania
Date: 4/12/2018
Time: 4 p.m.

Grainger Auditorium, Room 1002 ECE Building



Event Type: Seminar/Symposium


Recent development in nanotechnology, nanoscience, optical physics, and materials science and engineering has provided opportunities to construct structures with unprecedented attributes and characteristics in manipulating waves and fields.  We have been exploring a series of phenomena related to the wave-matter interaction in platforms with extreme scenarios, such as near-zero-index photonics in materials with effective permittivity and/or effective permeability near zero, photonic doping, optical lumped nanocircuitry (“optical metatronics”), performing mathematical operations and analog computing with waves in specialized materials, geometry-independent resonant structures, one-atom-thick optical structures based on graphene photonics, nonreciprocal vortices at subwavelength scales, large anisotropy and nonlinearity, “low-index” photonics, and more.  The “extreme photonics” is an exciting platform with unconventional features and functionalities for quantum-based and wave-based paradigms in wave dynamics.  I will discuss some of our ongoing work in these areas, will present some of the opportunities and challenges, and will forecast some future directions and possibilities.


Nader Engheta is the H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, with affiliations in the Departments of Electrical and Systems Engineering, Bioengineering, Materials Science and Engineering, and Physics and Astronomy.  He received his B.S. degree from the University of Tehran and his M.S and Ph.D. degrees from Caltech.   His current research activities span a broad range of areas including photonics, metamaterials, nano-optics, graphene optics, electrodynamics, imaging and sensing inspired by eyes of animal species, microwave and optical antennas, and physics and engineering of fields and waves.

He has received several awards for his research including the 2018 Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology from the IEEE Nanotechnology Council, the 2017 William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award from the IEEE Photonics Society, the 2015 Gold Medal from SPIE, the 2015 Fellow of US National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the 2014 Balthasar van der Pol Gold Medal from the International Union of Radio Science (URSI), the 2017 Beacon of Photonics Industry Award from the Photonics Media, the 2015 Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship Award from US Department of Defense, the 2012 IEEE Electromagnetics Award, the 2015 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Distinguished Achievement Award, the 2015 Wheatstone Lecture in King’s College London, the 2013 Inaugural SINA Award in Engineering, 2006 Scientific American Magazine 50 Leaders in Science and Technology, the Guggenheim Fellowship, and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal.  He is a Fellow of seven international scientific and technical organizations, i.e., IEEE, OSA, APS, MRS, SPIE, URSI, and American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).  He has received the honorary doctoral degrees from the Aalto University in Finland in 2016, the University of Stuttgart, Germany in 2016, and Ukraine’s National Technical University Kharkov Polytechnic Institute in 2017. 

To request disability-related accommodations for this event, please contact the person listed above, or the unit hosting the event.