skip to main content

Oakley Award in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Established 1994

The Oakley Family of Quincy, Ill., set up this award in 1994 under the suggestion of Prof. Burks Oakley II, who at the time was the Undergraduate Adviser in the Department. In his position as adviser, Dr. Oakley came in contact with many outstanding undergraduate students that had been required to seek employment during their college career to help pay for their education. The Oakley family agreed that it would be good to establish an award to honor students that had shown outstanding academic merit and leadership while having to work to pay for their education.


This award was established to recognize and reward outstanding juniors in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department who have been active in outside activities while helping finance their education through employment during their college career.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The award recipient shall have a high scholastic average.
  3. The award recipient shall be a junior in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  4. The award recipient shall have contributed to financing his/her education through employment during school.
  5. The award recipient shall have participated in technical and professional societies as well as other campus and community activities.


The Oakley Award is one of four awards in the Department for Juniors. Applications for the award may be submitted online beginning in January of each year. The top candidates are interviewed by a faculty committee.


The recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Award Banquet in April.

Past Recipients of the Award

Year Recipient
2019 Howard Li
2018 Dawn Haken
2017 Corey Snyder
2016 Nathan Beauchamp
2015 Sharon Tang
2014 Marjorie Dallmann
2013 Liana Nicklaus
2012 Yaning Liang
2011 Shreya Prakash
2010 Michael Carney
2009 Anjali Sridhar
2008 David Rockwood
Yanzhu Wang
2007 Jong-Sun Yi
2006 Thomas Hughes
Safi Sandila
2005 Rishi Roongta
2004 Dianna Liu
2003 Vishesh Narayen
2002 Niraj Nayak
2001 Peter Albrecht
2000 Hanching Fuh
1999 Min Cai
1998 Neal Baltz
1997 Kevin R. King
1996 David K. Eng
1995 Jason J. Leung
1994 Kevin D. Safford